What is a Chakra?

What is a Chakra?

I frequently get asked about the inspiration behind my handmade jewellery. I am inspired by a lot of things, but today I thought I would write a short piece about my Chakra Collection as it seems to be growing in popularity…

A chakra (pronounced “cha”-“kra” with a resounding “ch”) is a centre of energy. Originating from Sanskrit word ‘cakra’ meaning ‘wheel or circle’.

We commonly count seven Chakras (or centres of energy) which are positioned throughout the body. Each with its own colour, frequency, symbol and sound. The chakras run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

Each energy centre has its own associated colour, word, purpose and function. It is believed that Chakras are responsible for regulating certain functions with the body which impact the wellbeing of our body, mind and spirit. It is thought that our energy centres can be influenced positively or negatively by our surroundings.

I created this collection of Chakra jewelllery for others to enjoy a divine assortment of pretty rainbow gemstones. Each perfectly unique little crystal has been specifically chosen to represent each one of the chakras:

Crown Chakra – Violet – Wisdom - Amethyst
Third Eye Chakra – Indigo – Intuition - Lapis Lazuli
Throat Chakra – Blue - Expression - Aquamarine
Heart Chakra - Green – Compassion - Peridot
Solar Plexus Chakra – Yellow – Power - Citrine
Sacral Chakra – Orange - Creativity - Carnelian
Root Chakra – Red – Protection - Garnet

These stones are thought to give a subtle vibration that uplifts and harmonises us.

Whatever your beliefs, I hope that they bring as much joy and happiness when worn as I get from making them.

View the complete Dainty Rocks Chakra Jewellery Collection here: https://www.daintyrocks.co.uk/collections/chakra-jewellery-1

If you’re interested in reading more about Chakras this is a great article: https://chopra.com/articles/what-is-a-chakra

Best wishes,

Di x

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.